2010 Hall of Fame Ceremony

By Cody Hazen

Sports Editor

Cal State East bay celebrated it’s greats on May 15 as five former start student athletes and a former coach were honored at the Pioneer Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

            The event was held in the new union and opened with speeches from Director of Athletics Debby De Angelis and Cal State East Bay President Mohammad Qayoumi before introducing the inductees.

            The 2010 Hall of Fame class includes Leah Pero, Angel Alcorcha, Miloe McCall, Darryl Robinson, Archie Gilbert and Colin Lindores, as well as special recognition for the 1988 Pioneer women’s soccer team.

            These six were selected from over 100 people nominated. The Hall of Famers are selected by a committee of coaches, players and Athletic Department faculty.

            The first athlete honored was Leah Pero. Pero was inducted after playing three seasons for the Pioneer’s basketball team, from 2002-2005. As a three time All-Conference player, Pero helped lead the team to their best season in school history, 21-6. In her senior season Pero was named Cal Pac MVP and set records for scoring average, free throws and free throw percentage. Pero is in the top ten in nearly all statistical categories for the Pioneers.

            “I remember her for competing with an obvious joy for the game,” said Sara Judd, Associate Athletic Director and Pero’s former coach. “She was always at her best against the very best teams.”

            Angel Alcorcha played volleyball and softball for the Pioneers from 1996-1999. Alcorcha was a two time First Team all conference selection in volleyball. Alcorcha was second in the conference in hitting percentage, leading the Pioneers to two of the most successful years in school history, as well as earning NCAA All West Region First Team selection as a pitcher in softball.

            Alcorcha was introduced by her coach, current head coach Jim Spagle.

            “Never have I met a kid so aptly named,” said Spagle. “She was a leader off the court and led by example on the court. She was a beast.”

            Miloe McCall was a track star for the Pioneers from 1983-1987. McCall qualified for Division II Nationals all four years and was a two time All-American. McCall earned four consecutive NCAC titles in the triple jump and set the conference record. McCall was also successful in the high jump, with three conference championships in that event as well.

            “It was a wonderful and rewarding experience that I will always cherish,” said McCall.

            As the oldest athlete inductee in the 2010 class, Darryl Robinson is not short on accomplishments. The track-and-field runner was dominant at the pole vault in the 70s, setting multiple school records and won the conference title before taking second in the NCAA Division II Championships. In his final season Robinson led his team to the NCAA title and was named one of the nation’s top pole vaulters.

            One of Robinson’s close friends, John Berryman, was set to introduce Robinson, but instead let his son, Darryl Robinson junior, do the honors. He talked about his father’s incredible work ethic and dedication before giving the microphone to his father, who told an amusing drinking story from his days at Hayward.

            Former baseball player Archie Gilbert was also inducted on Saturday. Through his four years as a Pioneer, Gilbert hit an amazing .358 while setting school records for runs, hits, RBIs, doubles and triples, as well as second all time in home runs. Gilbert played in every game of his four years, and  hit successfully in 87 percent of those games. Since finishing college Gilbert has had a very successful career in the Oakland Athletics minor league system.

            Gilbert was unable to attend the ceremony due to his professional baseball career, but had a large group of speakers to talk about his accomplishments.

            “He wanted every possible minute to be the player he knew he could be,” said head baseball coach Dirk Morrison.

            Gilbert’s mother also spoke, as well as other family members and former coaches.

            Next to be honored was the 1988 women’s soccer team. The Pioneers won a 1-0 match against the number one team in the nation to claim the NCAA Division II Championship. The team wrapped up their impressive season with a 20-2 record. Eight players and two coaches were at the ceremony.

            The final inductee for the class of 2010 is former men’s and women’s soccer coach Colin Lindores. During his time here, from 1976-1989, Lindores led the women’s soccer team to six consecutive NCAC titles and the national title in 1988. Lindores was named coach of the year after the national title, one of five times he claimed this honor. With the men, Lindores claimed seven NCAC titles, earned five NCAA Tournament berths and reached the NCAA Division II Final Four in 1989. His combined coaching record at Cal State Hayward was 263-140-48.

            “He brought out strengths in players that made them perform at a higher level,” said Kulwant Singh, one of Lindores’ former players and assistant coach. “The other teams were envious of my coach.”